top of page

DIY Paper Bluebonnets - A Special Gift During The Coronavirus Pandemic


Bluebonnets only grow in Texas. Who would have thought some of us wouldn't be able to take a drive and see them because of a global pandemic, even living in Texas?


A few weeks ago I came across the following post on our neighborhood's Facebook group: "My grandma is in an assisted living facility a few hours away from here and hasn't been able to have visitors now for almost a month. We absolutely understand and are grateful they are protecting them as much as possible, but it's still really tough. On top of that, her 90th birthday is one month from today and I think we have to accept we may not be there to celebrate with her. Before this all started, I asked her what she wanted to do for her birthday and the only thing she asked for was for us to take her on a drive to see the bluebonnets in the hill country." She kept on and asked if people would have their kids draw/paint some bluebonnets so she could send to the facility and the staff would stick them to her grandma's wall. I immediately answered I was going to make something special for her. Then I found these on Pinterest (The Pin Junkie) and decided to give it a try. I'm really happy with the result and even happier for the chance to make Ms. Dorris smile on her birthday.


Here's what you'll need:


  • Construction paper (or other fine paper);

  • Wood sticks;

  • Scisors;

  • Glue.


Below is the DIY video tutorial I made and a few photos of my bluebonnets. Please check the step-by-step written tutorial with photos here.



Thanks for visiting! Leave a comment if you like it.


Lívia

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page