top of page

"Cheat Meal" - Low Carb Shrimp Tacos


The road to weight loss may be long and hard, when it's done in a healthy way and gradually, specially if you have a "fat soul", like I do. Motherhood made it eve harder, specially regarding determination and discipline, which before weren't issues. But we all get tired eventually. I got tired of not fitting the clothes I love, always wearing the same pieces because I refuse to buy new clothes in a size I don't feel comfortable and don't want to stay in. But above all, being overweight hurts me physically more than mentally. It has a direct impact on my knee joints, I feel pain and even have restricted movement.


For that reason, I went back to a routine of eating and exercising well, something I'd done my whole life until Alice was born. But the desire for junk food just doesn't go away like that, right? So, we have to allow ourselves to just cheat on he diet once in a while, or find ways to fool ourselves without hurting the diet. Does it make sense? For example, low carb shrimp tacos are a great option for when we crave something different without messing with your dietary routine.

Here's a simple recipe we tried. Each taco has about 120 kcal with the following:


  • 4 grilled shrimps

  • 3 cucumber slices

  • 1tbsp cabbage slaw

  • 1tbsp cucumber dill cream

  • 1 low carb tortilla

  • green onions and cilantro



This meal is a great source of protein, with minimum fat and low carbs. And the best part??? You only have t grill the shrimp an it's ready! You can put different things in your tacos, this is just a suggestion.


If you like this post, save it so you can try this recipe and come back here to tell me if you enjoyed it!

Lívia

bottom of page